Our mission is to educate children and instill in our students a love of learning and the abilities to think critically, live ethically, and appreciate the value of each individual.

Board of Trustees

The McGillis School is a 501(c)3/non-profit organization  and as such is governed by an independent volunteer Board of Trustees. The Trustees have fiduciary, legal, and ethical responsibility for the institution. The three primary duties of the Board are to think and plan strategically for the long-term sustainability of The School in accordance with its mission, to hire and evaluate the Head of School, and to ensure the responsible financial management of the institution. The McGillis School Board of Trustees is composed of a talented group of parents, alumni parents, and community members who understand the trust of good stewardship that The McGillis School community expects and deserves.

Garrett Barnes
Senior Vice President
Zions Bank

Melanie Battistone, PhD ▲ **
Interim Head of School

Cyndi Baughman, MA, LCSW
Social Worker
Private Practice

Laura Brockbank, PhD ▲
Child Psychologist

Tim Brown, MA, Board Chair 
Executive Director
Tracy Aviary

Paul Chung, MAT **
Faculty Representative
Middle School Teacher

Gretchen Dietrich, MA ▲
Executive Director
Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Chris Eisenberg, MBA ▲
Director of Development
Natural History Museum of Utah

Lori Feld Oakley, MA
Executive Vice President,
Managing Director
McCann Worldgroup

Andrew Gruber, JD
Executive Director
Wasatch Front Regional Council

Matt Haber, PhD  Secretary ▲
Chair, Department of Philosophy
University of Utah

Matt Hobson-Rohrer
Information and Technology Services
Hobson-Rohrer Solutions

Beth Krensky, PhD
Associate Professor, Art/Art History Department
University of Utah

John Malooly, CFA, Treasurer ▲
Portfolio Manager
Wasatch Advisors

Greg Orme, JD
Utah Court of Appeals

Kara Pettit, JD
3rd District Court

Hal Pos, JD ▲
Parsons, Behle and Lattimer

Mara Rabin, MD
Family Practice Physician, Alpine Medical Group
Medical Director, Utah Health & Human Rights

Ellen Rossi

Mary Beth Scholand, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine
University of Utah

Ted Sweetland
Real Estate Investor and Property Manager

Dory Trimble
Orthopaedic Project Administrator
University of Utah Healthcare

Matthew Weinstein, MPP
State Priorities Partnership Director
Voices for Utah Children

▲ Member of Executive Committee
* Ex-officio Board Member
** School staff